25 C
Tuesday, October 3, 2023

APC makes U-turn, disowns campaign council lists where Wike was named member

  • Subscribe to our Telegram Channel for more news and videos – CLICK HERE

The All Progressives Congress (APC), has called on the public to disregard the purported campaign lists for the November 11 governorship polls in Imo, Kogi, and Bayelsa states.

In a post on platform X (formerly known as Twitter) on Tuesday, Muhammad Argungu, APC’s organising secretary, said Abdullahi Ganduje, national chairman of the party, approved the constitution of the campaign councils in consultation with the national working committee (NWC).

In the now disowned lists, Dapo Abiodun, governor of Ogun, was to lead APC’s campaign council for the Kogi governorship.

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

While Inuwa Yahaya, governor of Gombe, was listed to spearhead the party’s campaign council in Bayelsa, Bassey Otu, governor of Cross River, was appointed to be in charge of Imo.

The Kogi, Bayelsa, and Imo campaign councils had 135, 123, and 138 members respectively.


Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Mohammed Bago, and Uba Sani were members of the Kogi campaign council.

Senate President Godswill Akpabio and George Akume, secretary to the government of the federation (SGF); and Betta Edu, minister of humanitarian affairs, were appointed members of the Bayelsa campaign council.

For Imo, Francis Nwifuru, governor of Ebonyi; Benjamin Kalu, deputy speaker of the house of representatives; and Rochas Okorocha, a former senator; were also meant to serve as members of the state’s campaign council.

But a few hours after the list was released,  the ruling party in a statement issued by its National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, said the lists released were not an official document from the party.

“The attention of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been drawn to National Campaign Council Lists for the 11th November, 2023 Governorship Elections in Bayelsa, Kogi, and Imo States in circulation in sections of the media. The lists are not official documents of the Party and should be disregarded,” he said.

UPDATE: You can receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp, click “HERE” to join our group.

Before the APC withdrew the lists, Nyesom Wike, minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), appeared as one of the members of the Bayelsa campaign council.

The party took out his name in a revised list and eventually withdrew everything.

Share News with us via Email: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Join Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -