22.4 C
Thursday, September 29, 2022

BREAKING: FG ignores ASUP, establishes three more polytechnics

The Federal Government of Nigeria has announced the approval of three new federal polytechnics.

This is according to a statement issued by the Director of Press and Public Relations of the Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Goong in Abuja on Tuesday.

According to Mr. Ben, the three newly approved polytechnics would be situated in Abia, Delta and Kano states.

The approval of the new institutions is coming few weeks after the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP) issued threats of a strike to the Federal Government for failing to revitalize the existing polytechnics in the country.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt News Update on WhatsApp

The education ministry explaining the reason for approving the new polytechnics said, it was in line with the President Muhammadu Buhari’s determination to make tertiary education more accessible.

The statement reads: “In line with his determination to make tertiary education more accessible, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of three New Federal Polytechnics in the country.

“The institutions are to be sited in Umunnoechi in Abia State, Orogun in Delta State and Kabo in Kano State.

“The new Institutions are to commence academic activities in October 2022. This brings to 36 the number of Federal Polytechnics in the country. All States of the Federation now have one Federal Polytechnic each,” the statement said.

Share a story or tip with us on WhatsApp: 07041591544 intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -