BREAKING: INEC declares Tinubu as Nigeria’s next president

- Advertisement -

Bola Ahmed Tinubu of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared as the winner of the 2023 presidential election.

He was declared the winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Chairman Prof. Mahmood Yakubu at 4;10 am in Abuja. Yakubu doubles as the Chief Returning Officer for the 2023 Presidential Election.

Tinubu polled 8.8 million votes to defeat his closest rivals – Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Peter Obi of Labour Party (LP) and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP).

- Advertisement -

TIP: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

Announcing the results, Prof. Yakubu said: “That Tinubu Bola Ahmed of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected.”


The INEC boss announced that Tinubu and the Vice President-elect Kashim Shettima will get their certificates of return today at 3.00pm.

The announcement of Tinubu’s victory was greeted by celebrations in many parts of the country by millions of Nigerians, who had waited with bated breath since voting ended at the weekend.

- Advertisement -

Tinubu won votes across the length and breadth of the country, winning in 12 states scattered across five of the country’s six geo-political zones. He did not win in any of the five states in the Southeast, where LP candidate Obi hails from. Obi got the bulk of his 6.1m votes from the Southeast. He took all the five states.

Tinubu won in Ekiti, Ondo, Ogun, Oyo (Southwest); Niger, Benue, Kogi, Kwara (Northcentral); Zamfara, Jigawa (Northwest); Borno (Northeast); and Rivers (Southsouth).

He got 25 per cent of the total valid votes in 27 states, including the 12 states where he won outright.

The states where he got the required spread are: Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Sokoto, Bauchi, Yobe, Kano, Kebbi, Plateau, Gombe, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Katsina, Taraba, Lagos and Osun.

SUGGESTION: You can receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp, click “HERE” to join our group.

- Advertisement -

Atiku polled 6,984,520. The PDP candidate won in Yobe, Gombe, Adamawa, Bauchi and Taraba states (Northeast); Katsina, Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto states (Northwest); Akwa Ibom and Bayelsa (Southsouth) and Osun state (Southwest).

The PDP candidate did not win in any state in Northcentral and Southeast regions.

Obi, who garnered 6,101,533 votes, won in Enugu, Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, and Imo (Southeast); Lagos (Southwest); Plateau and Nasarawa (Northcentral); Cross River, Edo and Delta (Southsouth), as well as the FCT.

The former Anambra governor did not win in any of the Northeast states.

The NNPP candidate got 1,476,697. Kwankwaso won in Kano (Northwest).

Share News with us via WhatsApp: 07041591544 or Email:

?Join Our Social Media Channels:

- Advertisement -

Latest News

BREAKING: CAC extends POS registration deadline to September 5

The Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) has announced the approval...

JUST IN: EFCC beefs up security in Lagos, Abuja and Ibadan offices over planned protest

Security measures around the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission...