BREAKING: Judges for presidential election petition tribunal unveiled (See Full List)

- Advertisement -

The Presidential Election Petition Court has unveiled its panel of Justices who will oversee the legal battle over the February 25th presidential election.

According to reports, the panel will be chaired by Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani, with Justice Stephen Adah, Justice Bolaji-Yusuf, Justice Moses Ugo, and Justice Abbah Mohammed as members.

In his inaugural speech, the chairman of the Tribunal, Justice Tsammani, urged parties before the court to refrain from making sensational comments that could cause unrest in the country.

- Advertisement -

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

Justice Tsammani assured all parties that justice will be served to the deserving party. He also called on counsels to cooperate with the Tribunal to ensure that the petitions are decided swiftly.

The Tribunal is set to begin hearing the petitions filed by aggrieved candidates today, Monday, May 8, 2023.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Bola Tinubu of the ruling All Progressives Congress polled 8,794,726 votes to win the election. While Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party came second with  6,984,520 votes, and Peter Obi was third with  6,101,533 votes.

Not satisfied with the outcome, Atiku and Obi approached the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal to annul Tinubu’s victory.

- Advertisement -

From the Cause list, the unveiling of the tribunal, the first case to be adjudicated, is the Action Alliance (AA) and its Presidential Candidate in the election, Solomon David Okanigbuan notifying the tribunal of their intentions to withdraw their petition against the declaration of Tinubu as Nigeria’s President-elect after the unveiling of the tribunal.

Besides Tinubu, others listed as respondents in AA’s petition are the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), All Progressives Congress APC and Hamza Al Mustapha.

Other petitions slated for the pre-hearing session are those of the Action People’s Party (APP) which has Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as three respondents.

UPDATE: You can receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp, click “HERE” to join our group.

It would be followed by that of Peter Obi and the Labour Party (LP) marked CA/PEPC/03/2023 with INEC, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Senator Kashim Shetima and APC as four respondents.

- Advertisement -

The Allied People’s Movement (APM) would proceed next against Tinubu.

Defendants in APM’s petition are INEC, APC, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Kashim Shetima and one Kabir Masari.

Atiku Abubakar and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) marked CA/ PEPC/05/2023, would be treated last and has INEC, Tinubu Bola Ahmed and the APC as three respondents.

Share News with us via WhatsApp: 07041591544 or Email:

?Join Our Social Media Channels:

- Advertisement -

Latest News