26.9 C
Thursday, December 7, 2023

Despite beating deadline, Tinubu fails to pick ministerial nominees from Lagos, Kano and nine other states

  • Subscribe to our Telegram Channel for more news and videos – CLICK HERE

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has failed to pick ministerial nominees from 11 out of Nigeria’s 36 states despite beating the 60-day constitutional requirement to announce his ministers.

The president on Thursday, July 27, 2023, submitted 28 nominees to the Senate for screening and confirmation in his bid to meet the constitutional requirement mandating Nigerian Presidents to forward ministerial nominees to the Senate not later than 60 days after taking the Oath of Office.

The President assumed office on May 29 after taking over from former President Muhammadu Buhari.

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

The Constitution mandates the President to nominate at least one person from each state of the federation as a minister.

Eleven states yet to have a ministerial nominee are the President’s home state – Lagos, Kano, Adamawa, Bayelsa, Gombe, Kebbi, Kogi, Osun, Plateau, Yobe and Zamfara.


It is still unknown why the president is yet to pick nominees from those states, but it is said that the president will release a supplementary list.

Bauchi, Cross River, and Katsina got two slots each in the list sent by the President to the Senate on Thursday.

States with a nominee each are Abia, Akwa-Ibom, Anambra, Benue, Borno, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Imo and Jigawa,

Others are Kaduna, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, Rivers, Sokoto and Taraba.

Among the nominees are former governors Nyesom Wike (Rivers); David Umahi (Ebonyi); Nasri El-Rufai (Kaduna); and Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa).

UPDATE: You can receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp, click “HERE” to join our group.

Umahi, who completed his two-term of four years each as governor on May 29, is currently a serving senator.

Tinubu sent the list containing the nominees to the Senate through his Chief of Staff, Femi Gbajabiamila.

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, read the list at the plenary at about 1:30 pm.

The President’s letter, as read by Akpabio, stated: “In compliance with the provisions of Section 147, sub-section two of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (1999 as amended), I am pleased to forward to the Senate for confirmation the under-listed 28 ministerial nominees.”

Share News with us via WhatsApp: 07041591544 or Email: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Join Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -