21.7 C
Thursday, March 23, 2023

Fresh crisis rocks APC over governorship primaries

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primaries held on Thursday, May 26, 2022, has deepened the crises in the party as some factions held parallel congresses while others boycotted the polls entirely.

According to reports, the delegate lists used for the primaries are faulted by aspirants and many to boycotted the exercise while others threatened legal action.

It was also gathered in Akwa Ibom and Ebonyi states, opposing factions held parallel primaries, due to the doctored delegate lists presented by the election committees.

IMPORTANT: You can now Click “HERE” to receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

In Ogun State, two aggrieved aspirants, Adekunle Akinlade and Biyi Otegbeye, complained of being sidelined, claiming that the delegate list was not made public before the commencement of the election.

They alleged that only one aspirant collected all the delegate forms in the state. However, the chairman election committee, Wale Ohu, in the state on Thursday, May 26, 2022 declared the incumbent governor winner of the primary held at the MKO Abiola Stadium Abeokuta.

The governor in his acceptance speech, described the election as a victory for the people of the state.


Okonjo Iweala of the World Trade Organization (WTO)

APPLY: 2022 World Trade Organization Internships for Young Graduates

The 2022 World Trade Organization Internships under the directorship of Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala have now opened applications for interested and qualified graduates all over...
Federal Republic of Nigeria

APPLY: 2022 Federal Government of Nigeria Scholarship Award for Undergraduate and Postgraduate Students

The Federal Government Scholarship Award has been announced by the Federal Ministry of Education, Nigeria as a fully-funded scholarship for Nigerian undergraduate and postgraduate...

In Delta State, the Deputy President of the Senate, Ovie Omo-Agege emerged winner. Omo-Agege, who polled 1,190 votes, was returned unopposed by the 1,235 accredited delegates.

But some of the aggrieved members including the Minister of State for Labor and Employment, Festus Keyamo; Dr Cairo Ojougboh; and a former Speaker of Delta State House of Assembly, Mr Victor Ochei, were absent from the primary.

ATTENTION: Click “HERE” to receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

In Lagos State, two aspirants, Abdul-Ahmed Mustapha and Wale Oluwo, protested their exclusion from the primary of the party held at Onikan, threatened to seek legal action should the leadership of the party fail to address the issue.

However, the chairman of the election committee and former deputy governor of Borno State, Shettima Yuguda, announced Sanwo-Olu as the winner and claimed that both Mustapha and Oluwo did not participate in the election because they were not cleared by the screening committee of the party.

He reiterated that Lagos APC had 1,225 delegates and 1,198 had been accredited.

Two factions conducted parallel primaries in Uyo, the Akwa Ibom State capital yesterday.

A fraction loyal to former Minister of the Niger Delta Affairs, Senator Godswill Akpabio held its primary at the party Secretariat at Okpo Obot while the one headed by a former National Secretary, John Akpanudoegehe, held its shadow election at Sheer Grace, also in Uyo.



Study-In-Italy: 2022 Italian Government Scholarships for International Students

The 2022 Italian Government Scholarships for International Students has opened applications for interested and qualified candidates willing to pursue a Bachelors, Masters or PhD...
Government of Malaysia Scholarship

Study-In-Malaysia: 2022 Government of Malaysia International Scholarships for Postgraduate Students

The 2022 Malaysia International Scholarships is now open for interested and qualified applicants willing to study in Malaysian universities.The scholarship is a fully-funded opportunity...

Also, in Ebonyi, two governorship primaries were organised by the Ebonyi APC faction loyal to David Umahi, governor of the state, and another faction loyal to Elias Mbam, former chairman of the Revenue Mobilisation Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC).

The election of the Umahi-led faction took place at Ngele Oluta township stadium, Abakaliki, and it was won by Francis Nwifuru, speaker of Ebonyi state house of assembly, who polled 743 votes. While the second faction organised their primary at the campaign office of Mbam in Abakaliki. Mbam polled 741 votes to defeat Nwifuru, who got seven votes, Julius Ucha had four votes, and Rosemary polled one vote.

In Gombe State, Governor Muhammadu Yahaya, was declared the winner of the primary through a voice vote.

The Chairman of the Governing Council University of Nigeria Nsukka, Chief Ikechi Emenike, won the governorship primary of the party in Abia state.

But an aspirant, Chief Daniel Eke, in an interview with journalists, described the primary as unacceptable.

The incumbent Zamfara Governor, Matawalle, was declared the winner of the primary in the state. Matawalle who contested unopposed got 733 votes out of 735 votes cast.

Share a story or tip with us on WhatsApp: 07041591544 intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -