JUST IN: Confusion as Wike makes PDP and APC campaign council lists for Bayelsa governorship election

- Advertisement -
  • Subscribe to our Telegram Channel for more news and videos – CLICK HERE

The Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, has been appointed as a member of the All Progressives Congress Campaign Council for the Bayelsa State governorship election.

The campaign council was released on Tuesday by Sulaiman Argungu, the APC National Organising Secretary.

Wike’s name was number 6 in the campaign council that would be led by Muhammed Inuwa Yahaya, the Gombe State Governor.

- Advertisement -

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

The 123 campaign list also saw the immediate governor of Jigawa State, and current Defence Minister, Mohammed Badaru as co-chair

Senate President Godswill Akpabio and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume are also listed as co-chairs.

Recall that Wike’s name was also included in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) campaign council list for the same election.

Wike is a card-carrying member of the PDP and also a minister under the APC-led government.

- Advertisement -

He has been in the PDP since 1999 but worked for the APC in the 2023 presidential election which saw President Bola Ahmed Tinubu triumph over his party’s candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

Prior to the election, Wike and four others insisted on not supporting Atiku’s aspiration for president, sighting marginalization of the south.

He was then compensated by Tinubu with minister despite yet to denounce his membership from the PDP and he had once said he would never leave the PDP. He even dared the party’s leadership to suspend him.

It remains unclear which of the campaign trains he would join for the Bayelsa election which will be held in November 2023.

Share News with us via Email: intelregion.com@gmail.com

?Join Our Social Media Channels:

- Advertisement -

Latest News

BREAKING: Owolabi Olakulehin crowned 43rd Olubadan of Ibadan

Oba Owolabi Akinloye Olakulehin has been crowned as the...

BREAKING: Tinubu renames National Theatre after Wole Soyinka

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has named the National Arts...

UPDATED: 200 students trapped as school collapses in Plateau

No fewer than 200 people have been trapped as...

BREAKING: Corps members injured as hostel wall collapses at NYSC camp in Ekiti

An unspecified number of corps members deployed in Ekiti...