JUST IN: INEC declares Kano constituency election inconclusive

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the election for the Takai Constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly as inconclusive.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Usman Ibrahim of Bayero University, Kano, announced this at INEC’s office in Takai on Sunday, March 19, 2023.

“Even though the candidate of All Progressives Congress, Musa Ali, scored 24,573 votes while New Nigeria Peoples Party candidate scored 23,569 votes, we still have no other option than to declare the poll inconclusive.

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

“This is because elections in five polling units were cancelled due to over-voting.

“Now, the election will be conducted again in the five affected polling units,” Ibrahim said.


In a related development, INEC declared Mr Garba Gwarmai of the APC as the winner of the Tsanyawa/Kuchi Constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly.

Professor Ganiyu Shokobi, the Returning Officer for Tsanyawa/Kunchi Constituency, announced the result at the commission’s Collation Centre in Tsanyawa.

Shokobi said Gwarmai polled 31,471 votes to beat his closest rival, Mohammed Ali of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), who got 27,864 votes, while Bello Abdullahi of the PDP polled 136 votes.

Also, INEC on Sunday declared the election results of the Shanono/Bagwai Constituency.

Professor Ahmed Iliyasu declared Ibrahim Kundila of APC as winner of the election after he got 38,021 votes, while Musa Aliyu of NNPP polled 29,983 votes.

Share News with us via WhatsApp: 07041591544 or Email: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Join Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -