JUST IN: INEC declares Umo Eno winner of Akwa Ibom governorship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Umo Eno of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), as the winner of the Akwa Ibom State governorship election held on March 18.

Eno was announced the winner by Prof. Emmanuel Adigio, INEC’s Returning Officer, and Vice Chancellor, Nigerian Maritime University, Delta, on Sunday.

He said Eno won in 29 out of 31 local government areas of the state to defeat Sen. Bassey Akpan of the Young Progressive Party (YPP).

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

He said that the PDP candidate scored 354,348 votes, beating his closest rival the Young Progressive Party (YPP), who got 136,262 votes.

He further stated that the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 129,602 votes, the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) got 12,509 votes while Labour Party (LP) scored 4,746 votes.


In a related development, the Kwara state governor, Alhaji AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq has been declared the winner of the 2023 governorship election in the state.

Governor AbdulRazaq who contested on the platform of APC polled 226,956 votes to emerge as the winner of the election and reelected for a second term in office.

His closest rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) Shuaibu Yaman Abdullahi got 123,118 votes while Hakeem Lawal of the Social Democratic Party, (SDP) scored 17,321.

The governor won all 16 local government areas of the state in the election results declared by the INEC Returning officer for the polls, Professor Isaac Itodo, the Vice Chancellor, University of Markurdi, Benue state.

The INEC had on Saturday night started th3 announcement of the 2023 governorship election results with three local government areas with the governor clearing the three local government areas of Ekiti, Isin and Offa.

UPDATE: You can receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp, click “HERE” to join our group.

At the resumed collation of the election results on Sunday morning, which lasted till evening the APC governor also won in additional 13 local government areas.

Share News with us via WhatsApp: 07041591544 or Email: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Join Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -