20.6 C
Monday, September 25, 2023

JUST IN: Tribunal sacks NNPP Rep member in Kano, declares APC candidate winner

  • Subscribe to our Telegram Channel for more news and videos – CLICK HERE

The National and State House of Assembly Elections Petition Tribunal sitting in Kano has nullified the election of the member representing Tarauni Federal Constituency, Mukhtar Yarima, of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) over forgery.

The court on Thursday, August 10, 2023, subsequently declared Hafizu Abubakar Kawu the winner Constituency.

Yerima, who was declared winner of the 25th February 2023 general election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) lost his rightful votes for an infraction on his primary school’s certificate.

NEW: Click “HERE” to join our WhatsApp group and receive News updates directly on your WhatsApp!

The APC candidate and former member of the House of Representatives, Kawu petitioned the tribunal, challenging the legitimacy of Yerima’s victory on the basis of a fake certificate.

Delivering the judgement on Thursday, the three-panel justice upheld Kawu’s petition and nullified the sitting NNPP member.


The court also directed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to withdraw the certificate of return issued to the NNPP candidate.

Share News with us via Email: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Join Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -