BREAKING: Ibrahim Gusau elected as new NFF president

Ibrahim Musa Gusau has been elected as the new president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

The former Chairman of Chairmen of Nigerian football and an ex-member of the NFF was elected during the Annual General Assembly of the NFF in Benin City on Friday.

The Zamfara-born football administrator defeated nine other contestants to emerge as the successor of Amaju Pinnick.

He gathered 39 out of 40 votes in the re-run election after all the candidates had initially failed to meet the 22 votes requirements.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

Gusau could only manage 21 votes followed by Seyi Akinwunmi who got 12 and Shehu Dikko with 6 and a lone vote for Peterside Idah.

Akinwunmi and Dikko, however, stepped down from the re-run election except for Idah.

Doubts were written over the election after a federal high court in Abuja ruled for its stoppage following a suit by the Professional Footballers Association of Nigeria (PFAN) over unequal representation and voting rights.

However, on Thursday, the court of appeal sitting in Abuja vacated the order restraining the conduct of the election.

Contact us:

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -