Exclusive: Marco Materazzi reveals what he said to Zidane in 2006 World Cup Final that caused infamous headbutt (Video)

Marco Materazzi has revealed what he said to Zinedine Zidane that led to one of the most infamous World Cup incidents in history.

The 2006 World Cup in Germany will be remembered for many things: the ridiculous array of stars on display, Ronaldo Nazario breaking the World Cup finals goals record, Cristiano Ronaldo’s wink, and England losing yet another penalty shootout…

But the moment that everyone remembers happened in the final 10 minutes of the tournament – the headbutt.

With the final between France and Italy deep into extra time and the score locked at 1-1, one of the greatest players of all time, Zinedine Zidane, held all the cards.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

Zizou had had a fantastic tournament, and after scoring an audacious Panenka penalty earlier in the game, the French would have felt confident going into a penalty shootout.

Zidane appeared destined to lift the World Cup trophy for the second time in his final professional match.

But everything changed in the 110th minute. Materazzi, an Italian defender, had been trash-talking Zidane throughout the game, eventually causing the Frenchman to snap.

Zidane’s infamous headbutt was met with a straight red card, and the image of the French captain walking down the tunnel, head down, past the trophy, became iconic.

Materazzi has now revealed what he said to Zidane in an interview with IFTV.

Watch video below;

“My trash-talking was nothing [compared to what is said in the NBA],” the Italian argued.

“He offered me his jersey. I said ‘no, I prefer your sister’.”

Asked if he shocked by getting a player of Zidane’s standing sent off, Materazzi said: “No, I never thought ‘wow’ because the game [hadn’t finished]. But when he did it, I was on the floor. If you look at me, I never get up. No red card, I never get up!”

 

What many fans don’t realise is that the referee at the Olympiastadion that night, Horacio Elizondo, didn’t see the off-the-ball incident.

“At one moment I saw Materazzi lying on the floor, about thirty or forty metres away, and so I stopped the game,” the Argentina match official said, via AS, in 2018.

“Swiftly, through our intercoms, I asked my assistants what happened. Surprisingly, both of them replied to me, ‘we saw absolutely nothing’.”

Luckily for the officials, the fourth official, Luis Medina Cantelejo, saw it all.

“Dreadful, Zidane’s headbutt on Materazzi was dreadful… F***! Zidane headbutted Materazzi. When you see the video you will not believe me,” Cantelejo said, an account that resulted in Zidane’s dismissal.

Contact us: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Our Social Media Channels:

TRENDING NEWS

- Advertisement -