Mario Balotelli remains the only Italian player ever to win the Premier League

Italian international and Sion striker, Mario Balotelli Barwuah is the only Italian player that ever won the Premier League.

Since the Premier League was formed in 1992, over 75 Italian football stars have played there.

Despite such a high number of Italian players that have played in the Premier League, only Mario Balotelli has won a Premier League title as an Italian.

He was also part of Inter Milan team that won the treble (Serie A, Coppa Italia and Champions League) in 2010.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

On August 12, 2010, Mario Balotelli joined Manchester City from Inter Milan for a transfer fee of €29.50 million. He began his professional football career with Italian side Lumezzane on April 1, 2006.

Then, the 31-year-old striker was the most promising footballer in the world due to his ability to score and his skillfulness.

During the 2010-2011 season, Mario Balotelli helped Manchester City to win the Premier League title. The win made him the first Italian to ever win the prestigious title.

Mario Balotelli who now plays for Turkish side Adana Demirspor, played 80 games in all competitions for Manchester City in which he scored 30 goals and provided 7 assists in 80 games.

In the Premier League, before he left Manchester City for AC Milan on January 31, 2013, for a transfer fee worth €20 million, Balotelli made 70 appearances in which he scored 21 goals and provided 3 assists.


Italian goalkeeper, Carlo Cudicini could have been the first Italian to win the Premier League title.

He would have won the title with Chelsea during the 2004-2005 and 2004-2006 seasons but then, he was second fiddle to the club’s first-choice goalkeeper Petr Cech.

Though he was part of the Chelsea squad that won the Premier League title back to back, Carlo Cudicini was not given a Premier League medal.

Why Carlo Cudicini was not given the Premier League medal

The italian retired goalkeeper Carlo Cudicini.

As mentioned earlier, Carlo Cudicini was part of the Chelsea squad that won the Premier League title in 2005 and 2006 but is not regarded as a Premier League winner.

The 48-year-old Italian footballer who is currently serving as a loan player technical coach at Chelsea was not given the Premier League medal because he did play up to 10 or five times in the league during those two seasons Chelsea won the title.

Note that a player can only be given a Premier League medal if he makes at least five Premier League appearances with the league-winning team.

Before now, players can only be given the Premier League winners medal if they make at least 10 appearances but that was reduced to five league appearances.

Premier League title won Based on Nationality

Nationality Players Wins
 England 93 196
 France 26 54
 Brazil 19 38
 Spain 19 29
 Netherlands 15 25
 Portugal 10 24
 Republic of Ireland 5 22
 Wales 5 18
 Argentina 9 17
 Belgium 7 15
 Serbia 6 14
 Germany 6 12
 Scotland 5 12
 Norway 3 12
 Ivory Coast 4 10
 Denmark 3 7
 Czech Republic 3 6
 Cameroon 3 5
 Nigeria 3 5
 Ukraine 2 5
 Ghana 3 4
 Russia 3 4
 Sweden 3 4
 Northern Ireland 2 4
 Algeria 1 4
 South Korea 1 4
 Japan 3 3
 Bosnia and Herzegovina 2 3
 Poland 1 3
 Trinidad and Tobago 1 3
 Australia 2 2
 Austria 2 2
 Montenegro 2 2
  Switzerland 2 2
 Bulgaria 1 2
 Ecuador 1 2
 Iceland 1 2
 Mexico 1 2
 United States 1 2
 Chile 1 1
 Croatia 1 1
 Colombia 1 1
 Egypt 1 1
 Guinea 1 1
 Italy 1 1
 Jamaica 1 1
 Latvia 1 1
 Liberia 1 1
 Romania 1 1
 Senegal 1 1
 South Africa 1 1
 Uruguay 1 1

Contact us:

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -