Full list of African countries that have won the most AFCON titles

  • ₦10,000 Award – Win ₦10,000 every month as a Top Follower of Intel Region | CLICK HERE

The Africa Cup of Nations commonly referred to as AFCON is the main international men’s association football competition in Africa.

AFCON has grown from a small competition with only three teams in its inaugural edition to Africa’s largest football event, with 24 countries in the main draw and 52 in the qualifiers.

The Africa Cup of Nations, organised by the Confederation of African Football (CAF), the continent’s governing body of football, has been held 34 times, with 14 different countries winning the title to date.

Only Egypt, Ethiopia, and Sudan competed in the first edition in 1957, with Egypt becoming the first AFCON winners by defeating Ethiopia 4-0 in the final.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

Egypt is the most successful nation in the cup’s history, winning the tournament seven times, with Cameroon winning five times and Ghana four times.

Three trophies have been awarded during the tournament’s history; the current trophy was first awarded in 2002.

Egypt won an unprecedented three consecutive titles in 2006, 2008, and 2010. In 2013, the tournament format was switched to being held in odd-numbered years so as not to interfere with the FIFA World Cup.

Ivory Coast are the tournament’s current champions, having beaten Nigeria 2-1 in the 2023 final.

The Nigeria national football team, nicknamed the Super Eagles, have won the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) three times, in 1980, 1994, and 2013. 

Full list of African countries that have won the most AFCON titles

Country  No.of titles Winning Years
Egypt 1957, 1959, 1986, 1998, 2006, 2008, 2010
Cameroon 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017
Ghana 1963, 1965, 1978, 1982
Nigeria 1980, 1994, 2013
Ivory Coast 3 1992, 2015, 2023
Algeria 1990, 2019
DR Congo 1968, 1974
Zambia 2012
Tunisia 2004
Sudan 1970
Senegal 2021
Ethiopia 1962
Morocco 1976
South Africa 1996
Congo 1972

List of Africa Cup of Nations’ Past winners




1957 Egypt Ethiopia
1959 United Arab Republic Sudan
1962 Ethiopia United Arab Republic
1963 Ghana Sudan
1965 Ghana Tunisia
1968 DR Congo Ghana
1970 Sudan Ghana
1972 PR Congo Mali
1974 Zaire Zambia
1976 Morocco Guinea
1978 Ghana Uganda
1980 Nigeria Algeria
1982 Ghana Libya
1984 Cameroon Nigeria
1986 Egypt Cameroon
1988 Cameroon Nigeria
1990 Algeria Nigeria
1992 Ivory Coast Ghana
1994 Nigeria Zambia
1996 South Africa Tunisia
1998 Egypt South Africa
2000 Cameroon Nigeria
2002 Cameroon Senegal
2004 Tunisia Morocco
2006 Egypt Ivory Coast
2008 Egypt Cameroon
2010 Egypt Ghana
2012 Zambia Ivory Coast
2013 Nigeria Burkina Faso
2015 Ivory Coast Ghana
2017 Cameroon Egypt
2019 Algeria Senegal
2021 Senegal Egypt
2023 Ivory Coast Nigeria

Contact us: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -