Full Lists: Teams qualify for the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League knockout phase

A total of 16 teams qualified for the knockout stage of the 2021/2022 Champions League, with English teams dominating it with four teams.

The 2020–21 UEFA Champions League knockout phase began on 16 February with the round of 16 and ended on 29 May 2021 with the final at the Estádio do Dragão in Porto, Portugal, to decide the champions of the 2020–21 UEFA Champions League. A total of 16 teams competed in the knockout phase.

Liverpool, Ajax, Bayern Munich and Juventus were the first four teams to clinch on Matchday 4 of the group stage, while the Current champion Chelsea, Manchester City, Paris Saint-Germain, Sporting CP, Real Madrid and Inter Milan joined them on Matchday 5. Atletico Madrid, LOSC Lille, RB Salzburg, Benfica and Villarreal punched their ticket on the final matchday.

The two legs of the Round of 16 will be spread over eight matchdays between February and March. The second leg of each series will take place three weeks after the first leg.

The eight teams left standing after the Round of 16 will participate in a quarterfinal draw on March 18, 2022, which will determine the rest of the Champions League bracket through to the final in Saint Petersburg, Russia on May 28. There are no seedings involved in that draw, and unlike the Round of 16, teams from the same country can be drawn against one another.

Champions League Round of 16 qualifiers
Here are the clubs that have clinched berths into the Round of 16. The table makes it clear which are advancing as group winners and which are group runners-up.


Qualified clubs by country

  • England: Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City
  • Spain: Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Villarreal  
  • France: Paris Saint-Germain, LOSC Lille
  • Italy: Inter Milan, Juventus 
  • Portugal: Sporting CP, Benfica
  • Austria: RB Salzburg
  • Germany: Bayern Munich
  • Netherlands: Ajax Amsterdam


Which teams are seeded for the last 16 draw?

The group winners are seeded for the draw and will play at home in the second leg of their tie, with the group runners-up unseeded and at home first.

Teams from the same country or group cannot be drawn against each other at this stage of the competition.

Seeded teams: Liverpool, Bayern Munich, Manchester United, Ajax, Manchester City, Real Madrid, Juventus, Lille

Unseeded teams: Paris Saint-Germain, Sporting CP, Atletico Madrid, Inter Milan, Chelsea, Benfica, RB Salzburg, Villarreal

Who is heading for the Europa League play-off?

Barcelona, Sevilla, Zenit St Petersburg, RB Leipzig, Porto, Borussia Dortmund, Sheriff Tiraspol, Atalanta

Contact us: intelregion.com@gmail.com | WhatsApp: 07041591544

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -