List of Nigerian players with the most international goals

Over thousands of players have represented Nigeria in 77 years of international matches since 1945, with countless legends a part of that number.

The like of Jay Jay Okocha, Nwankwo Kanu, Vincent Enyeama, Sunday Oliseh, Finidi George, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, John Mikel Obi, Obafemi Martins, Ahmed Musa and many more.

After Super Eagles striker Victor Osimhen scored four goals as the Super Eagles demolished Sao Tome and Principe 10-0 in a 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier on Monday to give Nigeria their biggest win in history, Intel Region has taken a look at the list of Nigerian players with the most international goals.

Among all Nigerian footballers, Rashidi Yekini had the most international goals. He became a national hero in June 1994 when he scored Nigeria’s first-ever goal against Bulgaria in a FIFA World Cup tournament.

Earlier that same year he had helped his country’s team capture the title in the African Cup of Nations, scoring a tournament-leading five goals. During his 14-year career (1984–98) with Nigeria’s Super Eagles, Yekini scored 37 goals in 58 matches, a national record that stood at the time of his death.


Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

He also participated in the 1998 World Cup but failed to score. Between 1982 and 2005 Yekini played for professional clubs in Nigeria and several European countries, but his finest work was for Vitória de Setúbal in Portugal, where he played for five seasons (1990–94, 1996–97).

There he scored 34 goals in 32 games in 1992–93, his best season, and 21 goals in 28 matches the following season. Yekini was named African Footballer of the Year for 1993.

The List of Nigerian players with the most international goals for the Nigeria national football team and this are listed according to their number of goals scored.

List of Nigerian players with the most international goals

Rashidi Yekini: 1984–1998 (37 Goals) (58 Caps)

Segun Odegbami: 1976–198 (23 Goals) (46 Caps)

Yakubu Aiyegbeni: 2000–2012 (21 Goals) (57 Caps)

Ikechukwu Uche: 2007–2014 (19 Goals) (46 Caps)

Obafemi Martins: 2004–2015 (18 Goals) (42 Caps)

Sunday Oyarekhua: 1971–1976 (17 Goals) (28 Caps)

Samson Siasia: 1984–1999 (16 Goals) (51 Caps)

Odion Ighalo: 2015  – Till date (16 Goals) (37 Caps)

Ahmed Musa: 2010 – Till date (16 Goals) (107 Caps)

Victor Osimhen: 2017–Till date (15 Goals) (22 Caps)

Julius Aghahowa: 2000–2007 (14 Goals) (32 Caps)

Jay Jay Okocha: 1993–2006 (14 Goals) (75 Caps)

Daniel Amokachi: 1990–1999 (13 Goals) (44 Caps)

Victor Obinna: 2005–2014 (12 Goals) (48 Caps)

Mudashiru Lawal: 1975–1985 (12 Goals) (86 Caps)

Nwankwo Kanu: 1994–2011 (12 Goals) (87 Caps)

Victor Moses: 2012-12018 (12 Goals) (37 Caps)

Alex Iwobi: 2015- Till Date (10 Goals) (59 Caps)

Kelechi Iheanacho: 2015-Till Date (12 Goals) (43 Caps)

Peter Odemwingie: 2002–2014 (10 Goals) (63 Caps)

Emmanuel Amunike: 1993–2001 (9 Goals) (27 Caps)

Emmanuel Emenike: 2011–2015 (9 Goals) (37 Caps)

Stephen Keshi: 1981–1995 (9 Goals) (64 Caps)

Benedict Akwuegbu: 2000–2005 (8 Goals) (30 Caps)

Victor Ikpeba: 1992–2002 (7 Goals) (31 Caps)

Joseph Yobo: 2001–2014 (7 Goals) (101 Caps)

John Utaka: 2002–2014 (6 Goals) (43 Caps)

Mutiu Adepoju: 1990–2002 (6 Goals) (48 Caps)

Finidi George: 1991–2002 (6 Goals) (62 Caps)

Goals and appearances comprise of FIFA World Cup and Africa Cup of Nations games, including numerous international friendly tournaments and matches.

Contact us:

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -