Liverpool beat Chelsea to win Carabao Cup for 10th time (Video)

  • ₦10,000 Award – Win ₦10,000 every month as a Top Follower of Intel Region | CLICK HERE

Liverpool have won the Carabao Cup for a record-extending 10th time after beating Chelsea 1-0 at Wembley.

Sunday’s final saw the Reds secure a first piece of silverware of 2023-24 as they repeated their win over the Blues in the showpiece two years ago – courtesy of Virgil van Dijk’s 118th-minute header.

It is the seventh major honour of Jürgen Klopp’s managerial reign, with the German only the third Liverpool boss to lift the League Cup more than once, after Bob Paisley and Gerard Houllier.

The victory in the capital further cements the club’s status as the competition’s most successful team, following previous wins in 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1995, 2001, 2003, 2012 and 2022.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

The Carabao Cup has also increased the Liverpool men’s team’s overall tally of major honours to 51.

Van Dijk had seen a header contentiously ruled out for offside on the hour but there was no reprieve for Chelsea when he glanced home another from Kostas Tsimikas’ corner in the 118th minute.

Liverpool’s 10th triumph in the competition was achieved without a host of injured star names, including forward trio Mohamed Salah, Darwin Nunez and Diogo Jota, also losing Ryan Gravenberch when he was taken off on a stretcher after Moises Caicedo’s first-half challenge.

It means Jurgen Klopp’s side have achieved the first part of a potential quadruple in the manager’s farewell season, but it was a bitter blow to Chelsea and manager Mauricio Pochettino.

They have now lost six successive Wembley finals, including three against Liverpool, and wasted a host of opportunities here.

Watch videos below;

Virgil van Dijk has been named Player of the Match in three finals for Liverpool.

Contact us:

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -