20.2 C
Friday, December 1, 2023

UEFA Super Cup history, previous winners and results

UEFA Super Cup is an annual super cup football match organised by UEFA and contested by the winners of the two main European club competitions; the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League.

The competition’s official name was originally the Super Competition, and later the European Super Cup.

it was renamed the UEFA Super Cup in 1995, following a policy of rebranding by UEFA. It is not recognised as one of UEFA’s major competitions.

From 1972 to 1999, the UEFA Super Cup was contested between the winners of the European Cup/UEFA Champions League and the winners of the European/UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup.

After the discontinuation of the UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, it has been contested by the winners of the UEFA Champions League and the winners of the UEFA Cup, which was renamed the UEFA Europa League in 2009.

Join any of these WhatsApp Groups to receive Prompt Sport News Update on WhatsApp

The current holders are Champions League winners Chelsea, who won 6–5 on penalties following a 1–1 draw after extra time against Europa League winners Villarreal in 2021.

The most successful teams in the competition are Barcelona and Milan, who have won the trophy five times each.

A full rundown of every UEFA Super Cup to date and how the annual contest came about.

UEFA Super Cup winners

1973: Ajax 6-1 AC Milan (0-1, 6-0)

1975: Dynamo Kyiv 3-0 Bayern München (1-0, 2-0)

1976: Anderlecht 5-3 Bayern München (1-2, 4-1)

1977: Liverpool 7-1 Hamburg (1-1, 6-0)

1978: Anderlecht 4-3 Liverpool (3-1,1-2)

1979: Nottingham Forest 2-1 Barcelona (1-0, 1-1)

1980: Valencia 2-2 Nottingham Forest (1-2, 1-0 Valencia won on away goals)

1982: Aston Villa 3-1 Barcelona (0-1, 3-0aet)

1983: Aberdeen 2-0 Hamburg (0-0, 2-0)

1984: Juventus 2-0 Liverpool

1986: Steaua București 1-0 Dynamo Kyiv

1987: Porto 2-0 Ajax (1-0, 1-0)

1988: Mechelen 3-1 PSV Eindhoven (3-0, 0-1)

1989: AC Milan 2-1 Barcelona (1-1, 1-0)

1990: AC Milan 3-1 Sampdoria (1-1, 2-0)

1991: Manchester United 1-0 Crvena zvezda

1992: Barcelona 3-2 Werder Bremen (1-1, 2-1)

1993: Parma 2-1 AC Milan (0-1, 2-0aet)

1994: AC Milan 2-0 Arsenal (0-0, 2-0)

1995: Ajax 5-1 Zaragoza (1-1, 4-0)

1996: Juventus 9-2 Paris Saint-Germain (6-1, 3-1)

1997: Barcelona 3-1 Borussia Dortmund (2-0, 1-1)

1998: Chelsea 1-0 Real Madrid

1999: Lazio 1-0 Manchester United

2000: Galatasaray 2-1 Real Madrid (aet, golden goal)

2001: Liverpool 3-2 Bayern München

2002: Real Madrid 3-1 Feyenoord

2003: AC Milan 1-0 Porto

2004: Valencia 2-1 Porto

2005: Liverpool 3-1 CSKA Moskva (aet)

2006: Sevilla 3-0 Barcelona

2007: AC Milan 3-1 Sevilla

2008: Zenit 2-1 Manchester United

2009: Barcelona 1-0 Shakhtar Donetsk (aet)

2010: Atlético de Madrid 2-0 Internazionale

2011: Barcelona 2-0 Porto

2012: Atlético de Madrid 4-1 Chelsea

2013: Bayern München 2-2 Chelsea (aet, 5-4 pens)

2014: Real Madrid 2-0 Sevilla

2015: Barcelona 5-4 Sevilla (aet)

2016: Real Madrid 3-2 Sevilla (aet)

2017: Real Madrid 2-1 Manchester United

2018: Atlético de Madrid 4-2 Real Madrid (aet)

2019: Liverpool 2-2 Chelsea (aet, 5-4 pens)

2020: Bayern München 2-1 Sevilla (aet)

2021: Chelsea 1-1 Villarreal (aet, 6-5 pens)

How the fixture came about

Just as the idea for the European Champion Clubs’ Cup came to fruition after French newspaper L’Equipe’s assertion that Stade de Reims Champagne could be the best club side in Europe, the idea for a UEFA Super Cup came from a Dutch source just when Dutch clubs, and more particularly Ajax, ruled supreme in Europe.

The competition was the brainchild of Anton Witkamp, then a reporter and later sports editor of Dutch newspaper De Telegraaf. Witkamp came up with the idea of “something new” to decide definitively the top club side in Europe, and to further test Ajax’s ability.

“The idea was conceived in the era of total football. Our era – four consecutive European Cups between Feyenoord and Ajax,” he explained. “More than money and glory, they were pursuing the right to be called the best.

“But who was the strongest team in Europe, which team ought to have been the strongest? The team that won the European Cup? In principle, yes.

Yet football is often a hymn to relativity and, for this reason, can be an imprecise art. So why not pit the holders of the European Champion Clubs’ Cup against the winners of the Cup Winners’ Cup? Why not throw down a challenge to Ajax?

“Rangers had won the Cup Winners’ Cup in 1972. I put forward my plan to the Ajax boss [Jaap] van Praag, who found it an excellent idea. Consequently, the way was clear, with the patronage of my newspaper.”

Witkamp and Van Praag sought official endorsement for the new competition from European football’s governing body, but none was forthcoming, largely because Rangers were under a one-year suspension from UEFA due to the misbehaviour of their supporters.

However, the match went ahead, albeit in an unofficial capacity, as the Scottish club, who were having centennial celebrations that year, willingly obliged. Witkamp decided on a two-legged format to maximise revenue for both clubs.

The games, financially backed by De Telegraaf, the best-selling paper in the Netherlands, took place on 16 and 24 January in Glasgow and Amsterdam respectively.

Goals from Johnny Rep, Cruyff and Arie Haan gave Ajax a 3-1 victory in Glasgow, while Alex McDonald scored Rangers’ goal. McDonald was on the mark again in the second leg along with Quentin Young, but they were again outgunned with Haan, Gerd Mühren and Cruyff scoring in a 3-2 win.

The first UEFA-sanctioned Super Cup matches took place in January 1974, although it was officially the 1973 final.

The first UEFA Super Cup proper took place at San Siro, where Ajax lost 1-0 to AC Milan. Ajax made no mistake in the return leg in Amsterdam and won 6-0.

Though Witkamp’s raison d’être of celebrating Ajax had been emphatically achieved, the competition still took time to take off.

Indeed, there was no 1974 contest with Bayern München and Magdeburg unable to find a mutually convenient date.

Liverpool could not make space to meet Dinamo Tbilisi in 1981 and could only find one date to play Juventus in 1984.

This was one of the three times the UEFA Super Cup was played as a single match before the current format began in 1998.

The other one-off ties came in 1991, when the political situation compelled Manchester United and Crvena zvezda to meet only at Old Trafford, and 1986, when Steaua Bucureşti and Dinamo Kyiv played the first Super Cup at the Stade Louis II in Monaco.

The competition took up permanent residence in Monaco between 1998 and 2012, with the match played to signal the start of the season.

After the last UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup in 1999, the UEFA Champions League winners took on the UEFA Cup victors (UEFA Europa League from 2010) and the trophy is now contested in a different European city each year.


Contact us: intelregion.com@gmail.com

📡Our Social Media Channels:


- Advertisement -